The Order of Time by Scott Southall |Spotlight and Q&A

Hello everyone and welcome back to the blog. How are you? I hope good.

Today I have another spotlight and a Q&A for you guys. Thank you Smith Publicity for providing me with the necessary material!

Without further ado, let’s start with this post.

Q&A with Scott Southall
Author, The Order of Time 

Question: You come from a banking background – what made you want to write a middle grade novel? And one about Egypt at that?

Scott Southall: I love what I do as a banker, but I have always been passionate about inventing stories. It’s also a nice counterbalance to the numerate work that I do every day. The concept of a twin brother and sister travelling through time with the assistance of the museum curator was something I developed in telling bedtime stories to my children. It was a sneaky way to try to teach them something at the same time that they were being entertained. 

When my wife and I travelled to Egypt in 2017 on a holiday I was instantly inspired to write the book. The inspiration may have come from the sense of stepping back in time when we visited amazing sites like Luxor Temple, the Valley of the Kings, or the Temple of Isis. It may have also come from the simple fact that it was our first holiday without children. Regardless, I started writing the book on the plane ride back to Sydney. 

Question: Why did you want to incorporate The Smithsonian Museum of Natural History into your story?

Scott Southall: The Smithsonian Museum of Natural History was an almost annual field trip that began in elementary school. I was fascinated by everything from the African elephant in the rotunda, to the dinosaur fossils, to the ancient artefacts. Those trips to the Smithsonian were part of the reason that I took an archaeology elective at University and part of the reason why I still have a hunger to travel and see the world. In that sense it was only natural for the Smithsonian to play an integral part in this story. 

Question: How is your story different than others in the genre?

Scott Southall: Most fantasy novels either take place in the contemporary world or in fictional worlds. This story takes place in both. The current setting is modern day Washington D.C. with real places like the Smithsonian and Georgetown. However, by utilizing time travel, The Order of Time is able to incorporate actual historical figures like Akhenaten, Nefertiti and Thutmose and historical places such as the city of Akhetaten within the weave of the story. 

Question: What do you hope readers remember about The Order of Time?

Scott Southall: It’s a story about the bond between brothers and sisters, it’s a story about courage, and it’s a story that goes against gender stereotypes. Working together we are all capable of more than we think. 

Question: Is this book part of a series?

Scott Southall: Yes. I have already begun the second book in the series and intend to write somewhere between 3-6 books with Anastasia and Edward as the protagonists.


MIDDLE-GRADE READERS GO ON A BREATHTAKING ADVENTURE TO ANCIENT EGYPT WITH LOTS OF LAUGHS ALONG THE WAY 

Identical twins who are different in almost every other way, Anastasia and 

Edward Upston are best friends tackling the ups and downs of 6th grade together. 

Whether they’re fending off bullies at their elite Washington D.C. school or examining rare antiquities at the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History, life is always an adventure! 

But nothing prepared them for the complicated twists and turns when they find out their mentor at the museum, Dr. Gregorian, is part of The Order of Time [Seaview Press Holdings, January 2020]. It unwittingly falls to the twins to travel back through time to ancient Egypt where they must overcome deadly assassins, evil high priests and vengeful gods in order to prevent disaster. Author Scott P. Southall’s fast-paced adventure introduces the fascinating topic of time travel to a new generation as Anastasia and Edward discover neither time nor history behave the way in which we were taught they do. 

“I hope for readers to get taken on a breathtaking adventure, to giggle uncontrollably at times, and to learn a little about Ancient Egypt,” Southall says. “I also hope to encourage young people to read. In a world crowded with visual content I believe that reading has the ability to expand a young person’s imagination and worldview like nothing else.” 

Fans of Rick Riordan and The Last Time Keepers won’t be able to put down The Order of Time.

Title – The Order of Time
Author – Scott Southall
Release date – January 21st, 2020
Publisher – Seaview Press Holdings
Genre – Middle grade fiction

Pages – 274
Format – ebook, Paperback


Scott Southall is an American author and banking executive. The Order of Time is his debut novel. He grew up in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. playing sports, exploring the woods behind his house, and stretching his imagination by reading any book he could get his hands on. He attended Georgetown University where he earned a bachelors degree in business. 

Scott and his Australian wife Kylie live in the paradise which is also known as Sydney Australia. 

Connect with Southall at ScottPSouthall.com, Facebook.com/Scott.SouthallAuthor and Instagram.com/ScottSouthallAuthor 

The Order of Time will be available wherever books are sold.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.