Triplicity by J.Mercer |e-ARC Review & Blogtour

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog. Today I’m back with a review for you guys. You can find the schedule of the Blog Tour here. Don’t forget to check the other reviews out!

divider
Synopsis

One week on an Alaskan cruise, three teens, and an endless trail of lies.

Enter a series of thefts on board and they all fall under scrutiny. Though Navy acts a proper preacher’s daughter, she did end up with someone else’s purse in her hands, and Jesse knows way more than he should about what’s gone missing. Isaiah, however, is the one with motive—enough money and he could get back to his ranch. Each holds a piece of the truth, but exposing the thief could damn them all. They must navigate through the lies they’ve told, choose between standing together or saving themselves, and decide if innocence is worth facing their ugliest secrets.

*For readers of Kasie West and Jenny Han.*

Add Triplicity to your Goodreads shelf
About_the_book

Author –  J. Mercer

Title – Triplicity

Publisher – Bare Ink

Publication date – January 6th, 2019

Pages – 300

Price – $4.93

Series – Standalone

Version – ebook*

Genre – Mystery, Romance, Young Adult

Trigger Warning – Theft, homophobia (remarks of an older person), alcohol abuse

Language – English

Review

# What I liked

First of all, I really liked the fact, that Triplicity was perfectly realistic. It is written in the point of views of our three main characters, Jesse, Navy and Isaiah. They are all teenagers and currently on a cruise ship with their parents or other members of their family. All of them had their flaws and weren’t the typical mainstream teenie characters that are perfect and can do anything! Sometimes you have books in the YA category, where the main character is a teenager, and they are Mary Sues (we all hate Mary Sues) but here everything was perfect. The main characters were questioning themselves constantly. Which is exactly how I remember my teenage days and I’m still like that today.

Next thing I liked was the fact that three strangers met each other in the dining hall because they shared the same dining table and therefore had to connect with each other. And all this without using their phones. It was kind of refreshing to read how they actually got to know each other while talking constantly and actually doing things together. I have a feeling that in our current society we actually don’t do these things anymore. I mean doing things together without always having a phone in hand. And simply connecting with other people. Which is kind of sad.

# What I disliked

One thing I did not like was that the novel was pretty slow paced. At least for me. Even though there are different days in the book (from day one of the cruise ship until the end of it) I still found that it was very slow paced.

I even found that it wasn’t that suspense-packed. I expected more of a mystery novel. So I’m kind of disappointed by that fact. I wanted more action. The three of them tried to hunt down the thief, however, for me, that was not enough. I wanted more. But that’s my personal preference.

I also didn’t find myself attached to the characters. Mercer found the perfect way to describe the three teenagers, but unfortunately, I found Isaiah quite annoying and didn’t understand Navy and Jesse. Howeverthat’s my personal feeling. I didn’t like the characters but maybe you will.

Another thing that annoyed me was the romance. I think that by now you surely know that I rarely like romance in books. I only like them when they are working with the storyline. Here however I found the romance unnecessary. It definitely wasn’t needed.

# Favourite Character

As I wasn’t attached to any of the characters I have to say that I don’t have a favourite character.

Where to buy

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2SgIdHU

J. Mercer grew up in Wisconsin where she walked home from school with her head in a book, filled notebooks with stories in junior high, then went to college for accounting and psychology only to open a dog daycare. She wishes she were an expert linguist, is pretty much a professional with regards to competitive dance hair (bunhawk, anyone?), and enjoys exploring with her husband–though as much as she loves to travel, she’s also an accomplished hermit. Perfect days include cancelled plans, rain, and endless hours to do with what she pleases. Find her on Facebook @jmercerbooks or online at www.jmercerbooks.com.

Author links: 
https://jmercerbooks.com/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16866168.J_Mercer
https://www.facebook.com/jmercerbooks/

divider


What about you? Do you plan to read Triplicity or have you already read it? Please let me know in the comments below.

*Thanks to Xpresso Book Tours and the publisher Bare Ink for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

5 thoughts on “Triplicity by J.Mercer |e-ARC Review & Blogtour

  1. Slow paced novels really really kill me; especially when summaries bring your in for some action or thrilling situations. Although I will pass on picking up this read, you review was great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to phanniebeingginger Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.