Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel – Spoiler-free Review

Sleeping Giants (Sylvain Neuvel) – Review

Hello, everyone! Today’s post is a review about one of my favourite books this month, this year: Sleeping Giants. In one word that book was: AWESOME!


Goodreads Summary:

The Themis Files is a deeply human story about a world-changing alien discovery.

17 years ago, a young girl named Rose fell through the ground in the Black Hills and found herself in an underground chamber filled with gleaming symbols, lying in the palm of a giant metal hand. Now a physicist, Rose leads a research team struggling to determine the hand’s origins. When another giant limb is discovered, she quickly devises a method for unearthing the hidden pieces, convinced there is an entire body out there waiting to be found.

Halfway around the globe, Kara watches helplessly as her helicopter shuts down over a pistachio field in Turkey. That’ll leave a mark, but she’s about to crash her way into what might be the greatest endeavor in human history.

This is a hunt for truth, power, and giant body parts. Written as a series of interview transcripts, journal entries and mission logs, The Themis Files tells the tale of a handful of people whose lives are inexorably linked by the discovery of an alien device and the commotion that follows.

About the book:

Author – Sylvain Neuvel

Title – Sleeping Giants

Publisher – Penguin Books Ltd.

Publication date – May 16th, 2016

Pages – 320

Special Features – It is told through journal entries and interviews (I suppose that you can count that as a special feature?)

Price – 7,35 € (Book Depository)

ISBN9780718181697

Series – Yes the 1st book in a trilogy I believe

Version – Paperback

Genre – Science Fiction/Fiction/Fantasy

Trigger Warning – /

Language – English

                                                             My Rating📖📖📖📖📖


Apparently, this one resembles the Illuminae Files a lot. I don’t know I still have to read Illuminae. But if it’s true I’m sure that I’m going to like it as much as I enjoyed reading Sleeping Giants. Because Holy Moly was that book good. I don’t understand how nearly every book I read this month were supermegafoxyawesome! Like honestly? Are you kidding me? There were only 2  books (1 for the moment the second one is following, I’m still reading it) that I didn’t like that much. And I loved all the others.

I never really know where to start with book reviews. Especially not with this one because Sleeping Giants is not easy to review. But let’s start with the cover. I prefer this cover  over this. Even though the last one matches the story a little bit more than the first one. But I prefer simple designs. So the first one wins for me and I was a tiny little bit disappointed that I didn’t get the first cover in my local English bookstore. Nevertheless, the second design is still gorgeous. Don’t get me wrong!  I like it but I simply prefer the other one.

I really liked loved that this book was told through interviews and journal entries. I honestly think that it is the best way to write a Sci-Fi novel and it is making it easier to read. Through the whole reading experience, you are learning so much about all the characters which is amazing and you honestly can’t hate a single character in this book. You simply can’t! And I always hate one character in a book but not this time. My favourite, however, was Kara.

Something I found very interesting was that the interviewer’s identity remained anonymous. It was a little bit strange at the beginning but you begin to like the mystery about this character and you start to wonder who it could be and what his/her role is in the novel.

You also have the feeling that you are a part of the crew. When they are making a new discover it is like you are there. Sometimes I didn’t even know that I was holding my breath.

This Sci-fi novel is a fast-paced read, I read this beauty in a day. Thanks to the interviews and journal entries which were never long. Neuvel also did a great job of explaining some things that could have been difficult to understand.

The ending, however, was mindblowing. I did certainly not expect that!

I can’t even believe that this book has been rejected a few times. I mean how? I know that some people didn’t like it but like seriously? (it kind of reminds me of Harry Potter)

This book was such an amazing read and I can’t wait to read the second one! And I can’t wait to see a movie about it!

Books in this Series:

 

Book 1

Book 2

 


What did you think of Sleeping Giants? Did you like it? Do you know if it’s going to be a trilogy or a whole series? Let me know in the comments below and if you want feel free to subscribe! Thank you!

5 thoughts on “Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel – Spoiler-free Review

  1. Emma says:

    I have been meaning to read this book for ages. I really enjoyed Illuminae and from your review I can see the parallels, the formats are really similar. I’m glad you enjoyed it, hopefully I will get to it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

