One Bark and Stormy Prom Night by Stella St.Claire – Spoiler-free Review

One bark and Stormy Prom night (Stella St.Claire) – Review

Hello, everyone!

Today I’m going to talk about an e-book that I finished reading today. It is not a long book but it certainly keeps you entertained the whole time.


Goodreads Summary:

Proms, pups and deadly rumors…

In the wake of her relationship’s break, Olivia is beginning to fear that she might grow old with only Goodwin and a pack of dogs by her side. But even the unconditional love of puppies can’t shield Olivia from the single most important event in Lexingburg’s social calendar: Prom. The roses, romance, and ridiculously priced restaurants seem to be rubbing salt in Olivia’s romantic wounds–reminding her at every turn that Andrew is leaving her.

While trying to shut the door on the mess of her relationship, Olivia accidentally opens the door to a murder investigation. Olivia’s friend, and the owner of a boutique dog food brand has been killed at her warehouse—bludgeoned with a side of beef. Olivia tries to run off her emotions but only stumbles upon the main murder suspect acting suspicious. She sees this as a sign. If she can’t solve her romantic problems she can solve the murder of her good friend.

Now, Olivia finds herself in an ever more tangled web of lies, secrets, and jealousy both recent and decades old. Who knew that dog food could cause as much drama as a high school dance? But the further Olivia wades into the crime the more she realizes that Prom isn’t just the main event of the season—it’s motivation for murder.

Book Three in the Happy Tail Dog Walking Mysteries Series.

About the book:

Author – Stella St.Claire

Title – One Bark and Stormy Prom Night

Publisher – Relay Publishing

Publication Date – July, 20th 2017

Pages – 175

Special Features – none

Price – 2.99 USD

ISBN – 9781548957209

Series – Yes, the 3rd book

Version – E-book

Genre – Mystery/Thrillers

Trigger Warning – murder

Language – English

My Rating📖📖📖 1/2


First of all, I’d like to mention that I did NOT read the first two books in this mystery series. Even without reading those books first I didn’t have a problem understanding the story.

In this book, we follow Olivia – a dog walker – who likes to solve murder cases. In the beginning of this book, she tries to overcome her breakup with her ex-fiancé Andrew. Let’s say that it’s not working very well. One of her friends doesn’t show up at her workplace and Olivia starts to worry. Soon our main character discovers the body of her friend and she starts to investigate even though she didn’t intend to do that at the very beginning.

When I searched through NetGalley to find a book in their”Read Now” section the first thing that stood out was this cover. I’m a sucker for beautiful covers especially when they are pink. I mean I can’t help it. Pink is well pink and one of my favourite colours even though I would never wear a pink colour on a daily basis. I’m more a fan of black clothes but never mind we are not here to discuss my clothes. The other thing that caught my eye was the paw prints. I love books with animals especially books where dogs are involved. And when they are mystery books like this one, well then it’s even better.

My favourite character was of course Olivia. I mean you simply have to love her. Her attitude, flaws and character were not perfect and this is exactly what makes her likeable. She may be a fictional character (this counts for the others too) but still, you had a feeling that she was a real person. At the beginning of the murder investigation you had the feeling that you knew who the murderer was but in the end, it wasn’t that person. I liked that the story kept me guessing on whether or not I’d be right. This novel is addicting and could work as a stand alone book. It is a short fast paced book which you can easily read in a day.

I don’t have anything negative to say. The only reason that I didn’t give it a five-star rating is that it didn’t reach the “Whoa HOLY SHIT MOLY” moment. But it’s still a well written and interesting story which of course needs some improvements. (like nearly every good book by other authors) I’m going to continue with this series. So stay tuned!

Thank you for reading and if you like this blog feel free to subscribe :)!

* I got this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review

 

2 thoughts on “One Bark and Stormy Prom Night by Stella St.Claire – Spoiler-free Review

  1. Up_the_Stairs says:

    I’ve read the book too. Olivia is an interesting character. I sort of found her funny and to me I tagged her one of those cliche Korean movie actress (I have nothing against them). I desperately wished I could eat one of those things her sister sold at the bakery. And you were right the book sure doesn’t have the *oh shit molly” feeling to it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

